We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Our Liberal Democrat Candidates in the May 2021 Elections

Police Commissioner


Richard Mark Whelan

Richard lives in the Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire area and, despite being physically disabled since birth, leads a fully independent life and continues his lifelong commitment to public service, most recently by standing as a Liberal Democrat Staffordshire County Council Candidate for Talke and Red Street.

Richard's manifesto is the same as that of all other Lib Dem candidates for PFCC across the country -

"Replace Police and Crime Commissioners with accountable Police Boards made up of local councillors."

As Richard himself says -

"The amount of money spent on this position and the bureaucracy that surrounds it is extortionate.

Liberal Democrats would abolish this position and use the money that is saved on local community policing instead."

Vote for Richard Whelan to do away with the costly and unnecessary bureaucratic post of PFCC and instead use the money to build up the local community policing which is proven to be effective.

County Council Divisions Candidates

Click on candidate photo or name to see their messages

Burton Town - Helen Hall

Theo Hollier 2019

Theo Hollier - Burton Trent

Burton Trent - Theo Hollier

Burntwood North:- Jamie Christie

Burntwood South:- Paul Taylor

Lichfield City North:- Miles Trent

Lichfield City South:- Hugh Ashton

Lichfield Rural North:- Paul McDermott

Lichfield Rural South:- John Smith

Lichfield Rural East:- Phil Bennion

Lichfield Rural West:-Fiona Robertson

Needwood Forest - Alasdair Brooks

There are also three By Elections

Burntwood Summerhill and All Saints Ward for Lichfield District Council - Paul Taylor

Stowe Ward of Lichfield City Council - Richard Henshaw

Hugh Warner ()

Hugh Warner - Eton Park

Sam Goldsworthy

Sam Goldsworthy - Eton Park

Eton Park Ward of East Staffs Borough Council - Hugh Warner and Sam Goldsworthy